TABLE OF CONTENTS

| | Articles, Book Chapters and Reports | | |
|----|--|-----|--|
| 1. | James Francis Oswald, Introduction – Origin and Extent of the Jurisdiction in Contempt Chapter 1 from book – Contempt of Court, Committal, and Attachment and Arrest Upon Civil Process in the Supreme Court of Judicature: With the Practice and Forms, published in 1895. | 1 | |
| 2. | R vs Almon (1765) [Undelivered judgement of Justice Wilmot which coined term "scandalizing judiciary/court/judge"] Published in Notes of Opinions and Judgements delivered in different courts by Right Honourable Sir John Eardley Wilmot (1802) p. 243-271. | 21 | |
| 3. | Chapters 1 to 9 from Book – Restatement of Indian Law: Contempt of Court Chapter 1 – Constitutional Aspects Chapter 2 – Civil Contempt Chapter 3 – Criminal Contempt Chapter 4 – Exceptions to Contempt Chapter 5 – Defences to Contempt Chapter 6 – Remedies and Penalties Chapter 7 – Procedure Chapter 8 – Limitations Chapter 9 – Appeals Chapter 10 – Rules Framed by the Supreme Court and High Courts Published by Supreme Court Project Committee on Restatement of Indian Law, The Indian Law Institute, New Delhi 2011 | 50 | |
| 4. | Justice B. S. Chauhan, Facets of Contempt of Courts: Civil Contempt & Criminal Contempt | 174 | |
| 5. | Report of the Law Commission of India, 2018: Report No. 274 Review of the Contempt of Courts Act, 1971 (Limited to Section 2 of the Act) | 183 | |
| 6. | Mahatma Gandhi Contempt Case Judgement – 'In Re Mohandas Karamchand Gandhi & Mahadeo Haribhai Desai' Judgement dated 12 March 1920 (published in Bombay Law Reporters, Vol. XXII, page 368). | 254 | |
| 7. | R vs Metropolitan Police Commissioner (UK) All England Law Reporters, [1968] 2 All E.R. p. 319. | 270 | |
| | Important Precedents/Judicial Pronouncements | | |

| 1. | Suraz India Trust vs Union of India (2021) SCC online SC 833 | 1 |
|-----|---|-----|
| 2. | Committee of Creditors of AMTEK Auto ltd. vs Dinkar Venkatasubramanian (2021) 4 SCC 457 | 10 |
| 3. | In re Prashant Bhushan (2021) 3 SCC 160 | 36 |
| 4. | In re Prashant Bhushan (2021) 1 SCC 745 | 100 |
| 5. | National Lawyers' Campaign for Transparency and Reforms vs Union of India (2020) 16 SCC 687 | 157 |
| 6. | In re Vijay Kurle (2020) 14 SCC 56 | 179 |
| 7. | Girish Mittal vs Parvati V. Sundaram (2019) 20 SCC 747 | 181 |
| 8. | In re: Mathews Nedumpara (2019) 18 SCC 150 | 187 |
| 9. | K. Arumugam vs V. Balakrishnan (2021) SCC online SC 833 | 202 |
| 10. | Rakesh Tiwari vs Alok Pandey CJM (2019) 6 SCC 465 | 211 |
| 11. | R. Muthukrishnan vs Registrar General, High Court of Judicature at Madras (2019) 16 SCC 407 | 220 |
| 12. | K K Gupta vs Himachal Pradesh Petroleum Dealers Association (2018) 17 SCC 82 | 291 |
| 13. | R. S. Sehrawat vs Rajeev Malhotra (2018) 10 SCC 574 | 294 |
| 14. | In re: Mohit Chaudhary, Advocate (2017) 16 SCC 78 | 304 |
| 15. | Radhe Shyam Middha vs State of Delhi (2017) 15 SCC 539 | 319 |
| 16. | Narmada Bachao Andolan vs Rajnish Vaish (2017) 11 SCC 308 | 325 |
| 17. | In re: Hon'ble Shri. Justice C. S. Karnan (2017) 7 SCC 1 | 330 |

| 18. | Het Ram Beniwal vs Raghuveer Singh (2017) 4 SCC 340 | 388 |
|-----|--|-----|
| 19. | Sita Ram vs Balbir (2017) 2 SCC 456 | 396 |
| 20. | Ajay Kumar Pandey vs In re: Piyush Verma (Addl. Civil judge) (2016) 14 SCC 301 | 422 |
| 21. | Maheshwar Peri vs High Court of Judicature at Allahabad (2016) 14 SCC 251 | 424 |
| 22. | Mahipal Singh Rana vs State of UP (2016) 8 SCC 335 | 430 |
| 23. | Amit Chanchal Jha vs Registrar, High Court of Delhi (2015) 13 SCC 288 | 465 |
| 24. | M. V. Jayarajan vs High Court of Kerala (2015) 4 SCC 81 | 477 |
| 25. | E. Bapanaiah vs K S Raju (2015) 1 SCC 451 | 487 |
| 26. | Bal Kishan Giri vs State of Uttar Pradesh (2014) 7 SCC 280 | 502 |
| 27. | Vijay Kumar Singh vs Union of India (2014) 16 SCC 460 | 513 |
| 28. | Rajeev Dhavan vs Gulshan Kumar Mahajan (2014) 12 SCC 618 | 519 |
| 29. | Subramanian Swami vs Arun Shourie (2014) 12 SCC 344 | 526 |
| 30. | Ram Niranjan Roy vs State of Bihar (2014) 12 SCC 11 | 544 |
| 31. | Arun Kumar Yadav vs State of UP (2013) 14 SCC 127 | 556 |
| 32. | Priya Gupta vs Additional Secretary, Ministry of Health and Family welfare (2013) 11 SCC 404 | 562 |
| 33. | Kalyaneshwari vs Union of India (2012) 12 SCC 599 | 583 |
| 34. | Sahara India Real Estate Corporation Ltd. vs SEBI (2012) 10 SCC 603 | 593 |

| 35. | Kanwar Singh Saini vs High Court of Delhi (2012) 4 SCC 307 | 721 |
|-----|---|-----|
| 36. | H. G. Rangangoud vs State Trading Corporation of India Ltd. (2012) 1 SCC 297 | 742 |
| 37. | Maninderjit Singh Bitta vs Union of India (2012) 1 SCC 273 | 747 |
| 38. | Sahdeo @ Sahdeo Singh vs State of Uttar Pradesh (2010) 3 SCC 705 | 760 |
| 39. | Haridas Das vs Usha Rani Banik & ors (2007) 14 SCC 1 | 774 |
| 40. | Supreme Court Bar Association vs Union of India (1998) 4 SCC 409 | 784 |
| 41. | Dr. K. L. Sahu vs Harishankar Bhandari (1997) 9 SCC 375 | 822 |
| 42. | Manilal Singh vs H. Borobabu Singh (1994) Supp (1) SCC 718 | 825 |
| 43. | Advocate General, Bihar vs Madhya Pradesh Khair Industries (1980) 3 SCC 311 | 836 |
| 44. | Naraindas vs Government of Madhya Pradesh (1975) 3 SCC 31 | 843 |
| 45. | Shri Baradakanta Mishra vs The Registrar of Orissa High Court And Another (1974) 1 SCC 374 | 850 |
| 46. | Gobind Ram vs State of Maharashtra (1974) 1 SCC 3/4 (1972) 1 SCC 740 | 891 |
| 47. | Marthi Venkata Subbarao vs Kruthiventi Kutumba Rao (1973) 3 SCC 896 | 900 |
| 48. | C. K. Dapthary vs O. P. Gupta (1971) 1 SCC 626 | 901 |
| 49. | Perspective Publications vs State of Maharashtra AIR 1971 SC 221 | 929 |
| 50. | Rustum Kowasjee Cooper vs Union of India (1970) 2 SCC 298 | 938 |
| 51. | Lalit Mohan Das vs Advocate General, Orissa | 942 |

| | (AIR 1957 SC 250) | |
|-----|---|------|
| 52. | Brahma Prakash Sharma vs State of UP (AIR 1954 SC 10) | 948 |
| 53. | Bathina Ramakrishna Reddy vs State of Madras (AIR 1952 SC 149) | 956 |
| 54. | Hari Singh Nagra vs Kapil Sibal (2010) 7 SCC 502 | 962 |
| 55. | Mrityunoy Das vs Sayed Hasibur Rahman (2001) 3 SCC 739 | 975 |
| 56. | P. K. Ghosh vs J. G. Rajput (1995) 6 SCC 744 | 985 |
| 57. | Delhi Development Authority vs Skipper Construction (1995) 3 SCC 507 | 991 |
| 58. | Delhi Judicial Service Association, Tis Hajari vs State of Gujarat (1991) 4 SCC 406 | 1010 |
| 59. | M. B. Sanghi vs High Court of Punjab and Haryana (1991) 3 SCC 600 | 1072 |
| 60. | P. N. Duda vs P. Shiv Shankar (1988) 3 SCC 167 | 1081 |
| 61. | In re S. Mulgaonkar (1978) 3 SCC 339 | 1122 |
| 62. | Sukhdev Singh Sodhi vs Chief Justice S. Teja Singh (AIR 1954 SC 186) | 1149 |
| 63. | High Court of Judicature of Allahabad | 1155 |
| | Smt. Sadhna Upadhyaya (Advocate) vs State of U.P. | |
| | Contempt Appeal (Criminal) No. 25 of 2007 | |
| 64. | In the High Court of Allahabad Full Bench | 1185 |
| | Suo Motu Action taken by the Court vs Sadhna Upadhyaya, Advocate Criminal Contempt No. 21 of 2007 2009 SCC OnLine All 374, (2009) 4 All LJ 434 (FB) | |